AITKIN COUNTY SWCD 307 2nd STREET NW, ROOM #216 AITKIN, MN 56431

Minutes of the Aitkin County Soil & Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors meeting called to order on Tuesday, January 18, 2022 at Rice Lake Refuge at 9:00 a.m. Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Those attending were: Those absent were:

Bob Janzen, Chair
Tom Fasteland, Vice Chair
Bob Roseberg, Treasurer
Frank Turnock, Secretary
Wayne Anderson
Steve Hughes, District Manager
Lori Nelson, District Secretary
Jean Skinaway Lawrence, Mille Lacs Band
Allan Richardson, Palisade
Lynn Mizner, Aitkin County Independent Age Reporter

Welcome by Walt Ford, Rice Lake Refuge

Additions to the addition:

-MASWCD/SWCD Supervisor voting by District or County Wide -Matthew Cluff/\$1659.63 Cost-Share Voucher

A motion was made by Bob Roseberg and seconded by Tom Fasteland to approve the agenda with additions. Approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tom Fasteland and seconded by Wayne Anderson to approve the December 21, 2021 minutes. Approved unanimously.

TREASURER'S REPORT

A motion was made by Frank Turnock and seconded by Tom Fasteland to accept the December financial statement. Approved unanimously.

CHECKS WRITTEN

A motion was made by Bob Roseberg and seconded by Wayne Anderson to approve checks written. Approved unanimously.

AIS UPDATE

- -Towels
- -Inspectors for 2022—hopefully will get more inspectors hired for 2022
- -4th Decontamination unit has been received and ready to be used in 2022

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

A motion was made by Bob Roseberg and seconded by Frank Turnock to nominate and cast a white ballot for Tom Fasteland as Chair. Approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Frank Turnock and seconded by Bob Roseberg to nominate and cast a white ballot for Wayne Anderson as Vice Chair. Approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tom Fasteland and seconded by Wayne Anderson to leave Bob Roseberg as Treasurer and Frank Turnock as Secretary. Approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tom Fasteland and seconded by Frank Turnock to elect Bob Janzen as Reporter. Approved unanimously.

OFFICERS FOR 2022

Tom Fasteland, Chair Wayne Anderson, Vice Chair Bob Roseberg, Treasurer Frank Turnock, Secretary Bob Janzen, Reporter

DESIGNATE BANK & NEWSPAPER

A motion was made by Bob Roseberg and seconded by Wayne Anderson to designate Security State Bank and Aitkin Independent Age as the official bank and newspaper for 2022. Approved unanimously.

2022 IRS MILEAGE RATE/.585

The 2022 IRS mileage rate is .585

BILLS OVER \$3000

MCIT

A motion was made by Frank Turnock and seconded by Tom Fasteland to approve payment to MCIT for \$10,616. Approved unanimously.

2022 MASWCD DUES

A motion was made by Tom Fasteland and seconded by Wayne Anderson to approve payment to MASWCD for \$4652.78. Approved unanimously.

MN FORESTRY ASSOCIATION (MFA)/DUES \$75

A motion was made by Tom Fasteland and seconded by Frank Turnock to approve payment of \$75 to MN Forestry Association for dues. Approved unanimously.

Lynn Mizner, Aitkin Independent Age Reporter arrived at 10:00 a.m.

DESIGNATE A MEMBER & ALTERNATE FOR THE MISSISSIPPI BRAINERD 1W1P POLICY COMMITTEE

Wayne Anderson volunteered to be designated as a member of the Mississippi Brainerd 1W1P Policy Committee.

A motion was made by Frank Turnock and seconded by Wayne Anderson to appoint Tom Fasteland as the alternate member of the Mississippi Brainerd 1W1P Policy Committee. Approved unanimously.

SET THE VOLUNTEER RATE FOR 2022

A motion was made by Wayne Anderson and seconded by Frank Turnock to set the volunteer rate for 2022 at \$30/hr. Approved unanimously.

MASWCD, MN BWSR/VOTING BY COUNTY WIDE OR BY DISTRICT

Discussion re: elected by large or by district. We have until March 1, 2022 to make the decision. SWCD areas do not follow Commissioner districts. At this time voting is at large. Steve Hughes will talk to the auditor. It was tabled until the next SWCD Board meeting.

SNAKE RIVER REPORT/BOB ROSEBERG

No meeting since our last SWCD Board meeting, will be meeting next week.

Introductions were made from our guests.

Allan Richardson, Palisade Jean Skinaway Lawrence, Mille Lacs Band Lynn Mizner, Aitkin Independent Age Reporter

DISTRICT MANAGER REPORT

- -E-link reporting due by February 1, 2022
- -Website videos now on the website

DISTRICT TECHNICIAN REPORT

Janet did not attend. She sent a report and is in your folder.

DISTRICT TECHNICIAN/FORESTER REPORT

- -No report handed out
- -3rd video finished and is on the website
- -2nd Community Education Woodland class/26 attended 1st Class, 15 attended 2nd Class
- -Snake River 1W1P
- -Aitkin County Champion Tree
- -Carbon credit market
- -Grants

BUFFER SPECIALIST REPORT

- -No report handed out
- -Buffers 2021 GIS map available now, 7,000 reviewed another 10,000 reviewed
- -Ag Inspector-worked with Wagner and Idun Townships about which species to look for and management plans that can be used. Attended the regional county ag inspector meeting.
- -Rum River 1W1P Steering Committee
- -Culvert Inventory/Finished creating the hard copy of the mapped culverts in Shamrock Township—need to add data sheets and will be done with Shamrock Township inventory.
- -Rivers & Lakes Fair-meeting to be held on February 1, at Big Sandy Dam office presentations, time slots, booth placement advertising, and if Long Lake Conservation Center will handle the food.

AMERICORP REPORT

- -No report handed out
- -Invasive species grants
- -Website
- -Grant Reporting
- -Community Education Class
- -Rivers & Lakes Fair
- -Natural Resource Advisory Committee

MN BWSR BOARD CONSERVATION REPORT

No report.

DISTRICT CONSERVATIONIST REPORT (Tom Gervais)

- -Civil Rights
- -Memo of Agreement between Aitkin County SWCD and NRCS was read by Tom Gervais. A motion was made by Frank Turnock and seconded by Wayne Anderson to sign the form. Approved unanimously.
- -The NE Forage and Grassland Council will meet on January 25, 2022

The next Aitkin County Soil & Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 15, 2022 at 9:00 a.m. Place of the meeting to be determined.

A motion was made by Frank Turnock and seconded by Bob Roseberg to adjourn at 11:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Franklin Turnock Secretary